Wednesday, March 14, 2018

The Heirs A Novel by Susan Rieger

The Heirs A Novel by Susan Rieger

A riveting portrait of a family, told with compassion, insight, and wit, The Heirs wrestles with the tangled nature of inheritance and legacy for one unforgettable, patrician New York family. Moving seamlessly through a constellation of rich, arresting voices, The Heirs is a tale out Edith Wharton for the 21st century.

This is a very well written novel. I enjoyed the family dynamic between the adults even though this feels more like a young adult novel. I haven't finished the book but it is definitely gripping.

I really enjoy books where different story lines that don't feel related, become related. They make the journey so much more exciting because while they are not confusing, you end up forgetting small details that play a big role later.

I would definitely recommend this book. 

Tuesday, January 2, 2018

Religion - You Are Beloved

When I was attending a Library conference I heard about You are the Beloved. You Are Beloved is a daily devotional intended to empower readers to claim this truth in their own lives. It is intended to be used daily (duh) and focuses on quick ways to remember the importance of God in our lives. It's easy to get lost in the daily grind. The book has a nice succinct feel to it and it was easy to pick up at the beginning or end of the day for a few minutes.

It will appeal to readers already familiar with Nouwen's work as well as new readers looking for a devotional to guide them into a deeper awareness of their identity in Jesus.

There are an outstanding amount of positive reviews for the book.

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

A Short History of the Girl Next Door

I love young adult fiction. I don't like anything too serious and this book does a good job of toeing that line. It's not something that is going to keep me awake at night worried, but it definitely invokes strong feelings that make you want to keep reading.

Other reviews mention that the language is strong in the book. I can understand the importance of them for storytelling elements which is probably why it is young adult fiction.

Equal parts hilarious and heartbreaking, this unrequited love story will appeal to fans of Jennifer Niven, John Green, and Jesse Andrews.

When I saw the book had similar attributes to John Green I was pretty excited to give this as a gift. He is definitely a prolific author and I have enjoyed his works for years.

This book doesn't disappoint!

The author does a good job of writing as an anxious teenager and getting inside the mind of a male learning to cope with loss.

Thursday, October 26, 2017

God Gave us Family

Seeing the cover of God Gave us Family, reminded me of the book I recently reviewed, When God Made You. The book's illustrations appeared to be very similar. I knew we really enjoyed When God Made You so I thought we would check it out. I had requested the book and was checking out some of the reviews. They talked about traditional and non-traditional families and it feels very important to raise your kids with awareness that just because something is "normal" to them it doesn't mean something different should be weird, strange, or "abnormal". This book does an amazing job of getting that across.

We've read the book several times already. My son loves seeing the different animals and it's a great way to talk about difference and how we are all unique and special in our own way.

Thursday, October 19, 2017

The Graphic History of an American Founding Father

Alexander Hamilton

Alexander Hamilton is still popular despite the time lapsed from when the Broadway show caught viral fire. I got this book hoping it would be a more visual representation of Ron Chernow's Alexander Hamilton book which is what the musical is based on.

We were lucky enough to get Ron Chernow at the Toledo Library last year.

The book does a good job combining visuals and text to make the book easier to understand for a younger audience and allows them to more easily get through the important historical and moral lessons. This being a comic book opens up history to a wider audience. I really appreciate that.

I really enjoyed reading other reviews on the book before getting it at Blogging for Books.


Library Card

Print Book


Blog - Theater Nerds Unite
Blog - Local Authors, Poets, and Illustrators

Monday, March 27, 2017

When God Made You By Matthew Paul Turner Illustrated by David Catrow

I got this book for my little dude because we love reading books and the cover looked amazingly beautiful. It had received really high remarks from other reviewers.

People mentioned a lot of diversity being displayed in this book and they were correct! This book makes it easy to tell your own story based on the images and colors in the book. Often times we will make up our own story from the pictures to keep books interesting and develop other vocabulary.

This is a good book for any age especially those under 5,6,7 where they still enjoy picture books.

We will be reading this book all the time!

Through playful, charming rhyme and vivid, fantastical illustrations, When God Made You inspires young readers to learn about their own special gifts and how they fit into God’s divine plan as they grow, explore, and begin to create for themselves.

I can't recommend this book enough - it's thought provoking and very enjoyable for both my toddler and myself. Learn more information from Penguin Random House.

More on the Book
More on the Author

Tuesday, December 27, 2016

Rad Women, Rad Baby

I grabbed this book thinking that it would be a cool topic to discuss with my 2 year old. Following the #HeForShe movement closely, I want to make sure my baby boy grows up nurtured in the right way. I thought this book might be too high level or too intense for him until I read the last paragraph of the description.
This progressive and visually arresting book is a compelling addition to women's history and belongs on the shelf of every school, library, and home. Together, these stories show the immense range of what women have done and can do. May we all have the courage to be rad!
So I thought I would give it a chance. It's neat to see the women illustrated in black and white so that their ethnicity is more obscured and that the focus is on their profile/resume. There were profiles of women I had heard of like Malala, Marie Curie, Venus and Serena Williams, and Frida Kahl, but the great thing is there were dozens I had not heard of which means the author is bringing them to life.

This book is phenominal and one I will certainly pass on to my children, friends, and family.It really wasn't a great read with the 2 year old - there aren't really eye catching pictures to keep him involved so I passed it onto an 8 and 10 year old - they LOVE it!